top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Stepchuk

Uni of Stirling: Week Thirteen

Updated: May 16, 2019

It is my last week at the University of Stirling. Despite the prep for finals and studying, I was able to sneak in a few more adventures! Here a few highlights of my last week!


On Wednesday, I had my last Mountaineering Dinner! I brought over some chocolates, but it was a bittersweet experience, knowing that I may never see these lovely people again. After the dinner, we hiked our way to the Settle Inn to enjoy our last night of traditional Scottish music at Stirling's oldest pub.


On Thursday, I explored Doune Castle! A short bus ride away for Stirling, I visited it with my friend Cassidee. Doune Castle is mostly famous due to its use as a filming location featured in films and television shows such as Monty Python and the Holy Grail and Game of Thrones. After exploring the castle, Cassidee and I walked around the town of Doune and grabbed some hot chocolate at a local cafe. I took a run later that afternoon to fully enjoy the sunny weather and my remaining time at the local loch.


Doune Castle, Scotland

Doune, Scotland

On Friday, I took a quick escape to Edinburgh for the day to run some errands and pick up some gifts. I absolutely love that city, I could imagine myself living there one day. I have grown quite comfortable within its walls. I also explored a few new cute shops too!


Victoria Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

With the abnormally sun weather, I took a hike up Dumyat on Saturday morning. It was a peaceful and beautiful morning to just lay down and enjoy the views of Stirling and the surrounding mountains.


Dumyat, Stirling, Scotland

On Sunday, I took a run around the loch and made a trip into Stirling. I picked up a new luggage bag and explored the local shops and stores. I went to my favorite place, Mint Cafe, to grab a delicious chicken and cheese crepe! That must be one of my favorite meals I have ever had.


On Monday and Tuesday, I primarily spent my time in the library studying for my Reading Film and Television Final and writing my Philosophy paper. I also began to pack up my room and belongings to send them back to the states.


Uni of Stirling: Week 13

On Wednesday, my dear friend Joy and I sneaked one last outing to the Settle Inn. It was packed that night with various individuals I met during my time at Stirling. The songs seemed extra bittersweet that night as I said goodbye to Joy too.


On Thursday morning, I went for my last run around the loch, enjoying every second of it, including the chilly wind and the swans. I took another last trip into Stirling to pick myself up a Scottish wool scarf and a check out a local cafe. I bundled myself up with a warm biscuit and hot chocolate.


On Friday, I celebrated my 21st birthday. I woke up and hiked up Dumyat for the last time. It was a beautiful day to be celebrating a birthday. I finished packing up my belongings to send back to the states and worked on my blog and diary for the rest of the day. For some proper celebration, I met up with my friend Abigail and enjoyed a flight of draft beers and delicious mulled cider at Brewdog Brewery in Stirling.



During my last official day at Stirling, I scheduled my adventures and plans for my trip with Erin and continued to work on my blog and travel diary. While doing some laundry, it did start to snow! I was very excited for it to snow in Stirling. I was able to experience nearly all of the seasons during my time in Scotland. I called it an early night to meet up with my twin sister to begin our biggest adventure yet!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page